Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 60 total)
  • Author
    Profile photo of Chromaco
    Chromaco
    Participant

Hi all,

Leo has been prodding me for a while to speak up. I have been reluctant to be too vocal because sometimes the forums aren’t the friendliest place and success sometimes is greeted with quite a bit of negativity. However, it seems like some positivity is due, so here it goes. I am constantly here and on MSG and I know exactly what is going on. I am pretty sure that I am one of the more successful site owners and the poll last week kind of verified that notion. I average about 1-2 sales per day on my symbio site. Last month my symbio site out performed all the micros except Clipartof and Shutterstock and combined my self hosted sites outperformed both of those. I have learned a few things along the way and I thought I might share some of the things that I have done and am doing.

First off, a disclaimer: I am an illustrator who sells vectors, I have a very specific niche and I know it very well. I have a day job that is constantly feeding me with untapped image ideas and I work in the industry I am creating for. These are huge advantages and I know full well that this helps makes my sites successful. I also understand that most site owners don’t have these advantages. Nevertheless, I believe that there are some other things I have done to help my sites perform well. This is a partial list some of them below. There are some other things I do, I just can’t think of them right now.

1) I do have the premium plugin but I really don’t use any of its features. I bought it to support Leo and I do like some of the things it offers but I really don’t think in my case it is affecting my sales.