Viewing 12 posts - 1 through 12 (of 12 total)
  • Author
    Profile photo of tdahl-stock
    tdahl-stock
    Participant

I know the pricing subject was discussed a few months ago and with that new FAA licensing talk it got me doing a little more research. I am relatively new to this but this is what I have found from a buyers standpoint. I am also looking at it from a buyers standpoint of buying a single image. I do not think I can compete with subscription sales but I have a chance with single image buyers.

As a buyer I went to Shutterstock, Fotolia, Canstock, iStock, 123rf, and Dreamstime to see what it would cost me to buy a single image and at the lowest resolution with standard RF license.

Shutterstock: $29.00 (the pay as you go is for 2 images for $29.00)
    iStock: $15.00
    123RF: $20.00 (20 credits minimum purchase, small jpg 1 credit)
    Canstock: $9.00 (15 credits minimum purchase, small jpg 2 credits)
    Dreamstime: $14.99 (11 credits minimum purchase)
    Fotolia: $25.00 (monthly sub for 5 xxl or 10 medium)

This tells me I should be able to compete for single image sales starting at the smallest size for $18.00. I am only talking smallest size and standard RF and not EL, RM, or Editorial. I would have to do more research on competitive pricing for the other sizes and licensing.

I see so much talk about pricing our images compared to what we earn at other sites. More than likely the buyer who has a subscription with an agency is not going to buy my images unless it is something unique that they like. So All I need to do is have competitive pricing for single image buyers.

My smallest image is now set at $2.50. It looks like it could be as high as $20.00, but probably $15.00 might be appropriate.

Am I missing something?

-Tim

Profile photo of shelma1
    shelma1
    Participant