Viewing 9 posts - 1 through 9 (of 9 total)
  • Author
    Profile photo of George Sheldon
    George Sheldon
    Participant

How many sites are you running?  If you have multiple sites, why?

I’ve opted to do everything (blog, image sales, etc.)  from one site.  I had multiple sites, but gave them up because of the work involved  So I guess it is fair to say I have adopted a supersite strategy. What are yu doing – an of course, why?

George

Profile photo of steveh
    steveh
    Participant

I’ve got three that I try to maintain, probably for historical reasons more than anything. Obviously I have my symbio site and have just spent the morning putting a “places” category list in place so people can perhaps find some of the images I have of different countries. I then maintain my blog BackyardSilver.com which is under a different URL. I’ve been doing that for about 8 years and so that has a life of its own.

I then created a “portfolio” or fine art site that I am less good at keeping up to date. The idea was that I would put my best images on there as an easy way for me to show off my work. That is at http://www.backyardimage.com

As you can tell, I’ve stuck with the “backyard” theme and even put together a jewelry site for my wife at BackyardArtisan.com! There was probably some logic behind all this once upon a time!

Steve

I have 2 sites.

First one is the stock licensing site http://www.bestcityscape.com with my major collections. The 2nd one is in beta testing and is dedicated to photo prints only http://www.cityscapeprints.com. Prints is quite different business with stock licensing, that’s why I setup this site.

Hopefully the prints business will be running half year later. I have prints store at FAA but their printing cost is ridiculously high. Very few orders placed this year.

Besides, I use social media to do daily promotion such as Facebook, Flickr, Instagram, 500px etc.

Songquan

George Sheldon
    Participant

Steve,